Peoria, IL,
10:23 AM

Major Superior and Council Elected

The Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis wrap General Chapter

Sisters 2

The Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis met in a General Chapter in early October, which occurs every six years. On October 6, 2018 they elected a Major Superior and her Council who comprise the Governing Board for the Religious Congregation. They also serve as the highest board holding reserve powers over OSF HealthCare as well as serve on the various OSF Boards.

Sister Judith Ann Duvall, O.S.F., was re-elected to a six-year term as Major Superior. Sister holds bachelor’s degrees in Nursing and Business Management/Administration and a master’s degree in Catholic Doctrine. She is the original and ongoing coordinator of the Ministry Development Program that began in 1989.

Also re-elected to serve six-year terms as Council Sisters were Sister Diane Marie McGrew, O.S.F., Sister Agnes Joseph Williams, O.S.F., Sister Theresa Ann Brazeau, O.S.F., and Sister Rose Therese Mann, O.S.F.

The results of the election have been transmitted to the Holy See and Bishop Daniel Jenky, Bishop of the Peoria Diocese, in accord with the norm of law.

The General Chapter convened with an opening Mass on Sunday, September 30. Chapter sessions followed throughout the week with the Sisters focusing on strengthening the internal life of the Community as well as their apostolic works in health care. The Chapter concluded with the Chapter of Election on the morning of October 6.