08:24 AM

OSF Hospitals Make the Leapfrog Grade

Leapfrog 2018

New Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grades have been announced by The Leapfrog Group, a national watchdog organization for patient safety. Hospitals are assigned A, B, C, D and F letter grades in order to provide a complete picture of patient safety.

This spring, four OSF HealthCare facilities have achieved an ‘A’ grade:

- OSF HealthCare Heart of Mary Medical Center in Urbana

- OSF HealthCare St. Joseph Medical Center in Bloomington

- OSF HealthCare St. Mary Medical Center in Galesburg

- OSF HealthCare Saint Elizabeth Medical Center in Ottawa

Additionally, four OSF HealthCare facilities have achieved a ‘B’ grade:

- OSF HealthCare Saint Francis Medical Center in Peoria

- OSF HealthCare Sacred Heart Medical Center in Danville

- OSF HealthCare Saint Anthony Medical Center in Rockford

- OSF HealthCare Saint Anthony’s Health Center in Alton

These facilities have the honor of being among the safest hospitals in the country.

Developed under the guidance of a national expert panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public.

The study only includes hospitals of a certain size and treating a minimum number of specific conditions; therefore, some OSF HealthCare facilities were excluded from the ratings.

To see the full grade for all eligible OSF HealthCare facilities, visit www.hospitalsafetygrade.org.